The Trophies of GAA Rounders

Corn Gael Linn 

The Corn Gael Linn was the very first GAA Rounders trophy on record, it started as the Ladies top prize in 1970, later replaced by the C J Haughey cup in 1976. It was then introduced to the Senior Men's championship in the tournaments inaugural year. However it only lasted one year with the Senior Men untill taking it's place as the GAA Minor Men's trophy in 1977. Ard Comhairle replaced it in 2009 but decided to keep the name.  


Corn Betsi Gre 

The Corn Betsi Gre was introduced in 1977, purchased by Ard Comhairle after the first Minor Ladie's blitz the year prior was such a success. The trophy is named after the Co.Down 1798 heroine. It was first raised high by Antrim's Erin's Own & is still played for till this day. 9 Countys and 15 different clubs have had the privilege to hold it. Ard Comhairle also decided to replace the trophy in 2010 along with the Senior men, women, mixed & the minor mixed. 



The Minor Mixed Trophy 

The unnamed trophy is the youngest Gaa Rounders trophy making its debut in 1998, following the success from feile under 16 mixed, it was decided to intraduce an under 18 mixed tournament. The first final proved why Ard Comhairle took the chance as Rathdowney battled Glynn/Barntown in what went down as the lowest scoring rounders final ever ending 3-2 in favour of the Wexford natives 


Corn Aodh Rua 

Introduced to the game in 1977 it took its rightfull place as the Senior Men's most prestigious prize. The very first winner was again Erin's Own, however I think this trophy will always be linked to Cavan team Erne Eagles who won it ten year's in a row(98-07) & eleven years in total, a record that will be difficult to break. 



C J Haughhey Cup 

This trophy was donated to the association in 1976 by  

Charles J Haughey, and presented to the winners Erin's Own who beat Lavey Derry. The 7 innings match and presentation all happened in under fiftyfive minutes. It has been won by 9 different countys but 15 different clubs and counting. 


The Syntax Cup 

The first Senior Mixed tournament took place in 1990 & was won by SynDodgers from the Syntax factory in Clarecastle. At the time there was no trophy untill the following year's final which was won by Lakelands. The Syntax factory then donated a cup named after them.