Home » Interprovincials 2019

Interprovincials 2019

This years GAA Rounders season kicked off with our Inter-provincial competition, on March 31st, in the Athlone RSC, Athlone. Leinster became three in a row champions, after beating Connacht 33-11 in the first match of the day. Munster faced Ulster next, with Munster securing the win on a score of 17-14. Our first final of the year was set, Leinster v Munster. Leinster took control from the start and ran out eventual winners, with an impressive result of 37-14. County's that represented their Provinces were Carlow, Dublin, Laois, Longford, WestMeath, Wexford, Breaffy, Galway, Roscommon, Sligo, Cork, Limerick and Cavan.

Home runs were scored by Leinster's, Damien Keane and Jay O Reilly, while Damien McCardle scored one for Ulster. Most impressive was Munster's, Andrew Tierny, who in his first ever game scored a home run. Fine fielding came from James Anderson & Maggie Brady from Cavan, while Limerick's Karl Buckley recieved most round of applause for his dispaly in C.O.F. Margaret Fitzgibbons put in a dominant performance on second base for Connacht. Our champs, Ann Hanley & Danielle Keane secured most outs between them, while Carlows, Gillian Nolan showed excellent batting. 

Backrow- Michael Slevin, Emo. Gillian Nolan, Cuchulainn. Leighanne Grier, Na Fianna. Ann Hanley, Glynn/Barntown. Danielle Keane (C), The Heath. Padraigh Reynolds, Sean Connollys. Daniel Costello, Limekiln. 


Frontrow- Shane Heraty, Ballinagore. Kiera Waters, Glynn/Barntown. Yvonne Hanley, Glynn/Barntown. Damien Keane, The Heath. Joanne Murphy, Adamstown. Jay O Reilly, Glynn/Barntown. 


Click here for more photos from this event

Newsletter Sign Up